Favourite Writers – Children

Classic Children’s Writers

Joan Aiken – The Wolves of Willoughby Chase, Midnight Is A Place, Go Saddle the Sea

Louisa M. Alcott – Little Women; Eight Cousins

Lloyd Alexander – The Book of Three; The Black Cauldron; The Castle of Llyr; Taran Wanderer; The High King

Lucy M. Boston – The Children Of Green Knowe

Enid Blyton – The Famous Five series; the Adventure series; the Barney mysteries

Katharine M Briggs – Katie Crackernuts

Frances Hodgson Burnett – The Secret Garden; A Little Princess

Nan Chauncy – They Found a Cave

Susan Cooper – Over Sea, Under Stone, The Dark Is Rising; Greenwitch; The Grey King; Silver on the Tree

Peter Dickinson – The Devils’ Children; The Blue Hawk

Monica Edwards – The White Riders

Eleanor Farjeon – The Glass Slipper; The Little Bookroom; The Silver Curlew; Jim at the Corner; Martin Pippin in the Apple Orchard

Leon Garfield – Jack Holborn; Devil-in-the-Fog; Smith; Black Jack; John Diamond

Alan Garner – The Weirdstone of Brisingamen; The Moon of Gomrath; Elidor; The Owl Service

William Golding – The Princess Bride

Rumer Godden – The Greengage Summer; Battle of the Villa Fiorata

Nicholas Stuart Grey – The Stone Cage; Down In The Cellar; The Seventh Swan; The Apple Stone; Grimbold’s Other World

Elizabeth Goudge – The Little White Horse; Linnets And Valerians; Henrietta’s House

Ursula le Guin – A Wizard Of Earthsea

Molly Hunter – A Stranger Came Ashore; The Spanish Letters

Anne Holm – I am David

Diana Wynne Jones – Charmed Life; The Lives of Christopher Chant; Conrad’s Fate; Witch Week; The Magicians of Caprona;  The Spellcoats; Cart and Cwidder; Drowned Ammet; Crown of Dalemark;  Power of Three

C.S. Lewis – The Lion, the Witch and the Wardrobe; Prince Caspian; The Voyage of the Dawn Treader; The Silver Chair; The Horse and His Boy; The Magician’s Nephew; The Last Battle Penelope Lively – A Stitch in Time; The Wild Hunt of Hagworthy; The Ghost of Thomas Kempe

John Masefield – The Midnight Folk; The Box of Delights

L.M. Montgomery – Anne of Green Gables; Emily of New Moon; The Story Girl; The Blue Castle

Edith Nesbit – The Phoenix And The Carpet; The House Of Arden; The Enchanted Castle; Five Children & It

E.J. Oxenham – The Abbey Girls series

Ruth Park – Playing Beatie Bow

Philippa Pierce – Tom’s Midnight Garden, Minnow on the Say

Elizabeth Marie Pope – The Perilous Gard

Ian Serrallier – The Silver Sword

Dodie Smith – I Capture The Castle

Elizabeth Spence – The Witch of Blackbird Pond

Rosemary Sutcliff – The Witch’s Brat; The Rider of the White Horse; Brother Dusty-feet

Noel Streatfield – Ballet Shoes; Thursday’s Child

J.R.R Tolkien – The Hobbit

Geoffrey Trease – Cue For Treason; The Popinjay Stairs; The Dutch Are Coming; The Fieldof the Forty Footsteps; Calabrian Quest; In the Land of the Mogul; The Iron Tsar; A Masque for the Queen; Bring Out the Banners; Danger in the Wings

Alison Uttley – A Traveller in Time

T.H. White – The Sword In The Stone

Elizabeth Wein – Code Name Verity; Rose Under Fire

Contemporary Children’s Writers


Deb Abela – The Remarkable Secret of Aurelia Bonhoffen

Kimberly Brubaker Bradley – The War that Saved my Life; The War I Finally Won

Elizabeth C. Bunce – A Curse As Dark as Gold

Kate Di Camillo – The Tale Of Despereaux

Michelle Cooper – A Brief History of Montmaray; The FitzOsbornes in Exile; The FitzOsbornes at War

Cornelia Funke – The Thief-Lord; Inkheart; Inkspell; Inkdeath; Reckless

John Flanagan – The Ranger’s Apprentice series

Neil Gaiman – Coraline; The Graveyard Book

Cassandra Golds – Clair-de-Lune; The Museum of Mary Child; The Three Loves of Persimmon; Pureheart

Shannon Hale – Goose Girl; A Book of A Thousand Days

Joanne Harris – Runemarks

Frances Hardinge – Fly-by-Night; Twilight Robbery; The Lie Tree; A Skinful of Shadows; Cuckoo Song

Mary Hoffman – The Falconer’s Knot; David; the Stravaganza series

Celine Kiernan – Begone the Raggedy Witches

Eva Ibbotson – The Star of Kazan; Song For Summer; Journey to the River Sea; The Morning Gift; Magic Flutes; A Company of Swans; Madensky Square

Sheryl Jordan – The Anger of Angels

Kathryn Langrish – Troll Fell; Troll Mill; Troll Blood; Dark Angels

Gail Carson Levine – Ella Enchanted; Fairest

Lois Lowry – Number the Stars

Geraldine McCaughrean – The Kite Rider; Peter Pan In Scarlet; A Little Lower than the Angels; A Pack of Lies; A White Darkness

Jaclyn Moriarty – The Extrememly Inconvenient Adventures of Bronte Nettlestone

Michael Morpugo – The Amazing Story Of Adolphus Tips; War Horse

Belinda Murrell – The Locket of Dreams; The Ruby Talisman; The Ivory Rose

Garth Nix – Sabriel, Lirael, Abhorsen, Clariel; The Keys to the Kingdom; Frog Kisser!

Phillip Pullman – Northern Lights, The Subtle Knife, The Golden Compass

J.K.Rowling – the Harry Potter books

Brian Selznick – The Invention of Hugo Cabret; Wonder Struck; The Marvels

Laura Amy Schlitz – A Drowned Maiden’s Hair – a Melodrama; Fire Spell

Maggie Stiefvater – The Scorpio Races

Cat Weatherill – Wild Magic; Bark Belly